Latest News

Merced's Huddleston named MVP

Allen Huddleston carried the bulk of the scoring load for Merced this season.

The Pacific-bound senior finished second in the state in scoring at 31.5 points per game.

After leading Merced to a Central California Conference co-championship, Huddleston was named the CCC MVP by the conference coaches.

"In my opinion, it was well-deserved," Merced coach Marcus Knott said. "I don't think any player impacted his team as much as he did.

"That's not to say there weren't some outstanding players in our conference. I think Allen separated himself."

Knott and Golden Valley's Keith Hunter were named the co-Coaches of the Year.

Golden Valley landed three players on the all-CCC first team in John Sykes, Alex Fletcher and Donte Scott.

The GV trio led Hunter's squad to a CCC co-championship and a semifinal berth in the Sac-Joaquin Section playoffs.

Also named to the first team were Pitman's Edgar Lopez, Los Banos' Rubal Sangha and the Turlock duo of Travis Souza and Eric Wetzel.

Hodari Peterson (Buhach Colony), Patrick Franey (Merced), Bernard Bolden (Merced), Eriq Belt (Atwater) and Andrae Jones (LB) all earned second-team honors.


Livingston center Harnarinder Johal was named the Western Athletic Conference MVP after leading Livingston to its first league title since 1987.

Livingston guards Dorian Campos and Brian Rivera were named to the all-WAC first team along with Hilmar's Quinton McCown and Gustine's Clint Manzo.

Livingston's Angelo Naldi was named WAC co-coach of the year.

Local CCC honors

MVP: Allen Huddleston, Merced

COACHES OF THE YEAR: Marcus Knott, Merced;

Keith Hunter, Golden Valley


John Sykes

Golden Valley

Alex Fletcher

Golden Valley

Donte Scott

Golden Valley

Rubal Sangha

Los Banos


Hodari Peterson


Patrick Franey


Bernard Bolden


Eriq Belt


Andrae Jones

Los Banos

For the complete list, check The Fine Print on Page B3.