Governor names appointees for delta council

SACRAMENTO — Gov. Schwarzenegger on Friday named his selections to a new council overseeing the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta.

The governor announced four appointees to the seven-member Delta Stewardship Council: Francis Randall Fiorini, Phil Isenberg, Henry Nordhoff and Richard Roos-Collins.

The president pro tem of the Senate and the Assembly speaker, both Democrats, each get one appointment. Sen. Darrell Steinberg of Sacramento named former state Sen. Patrick Johnston, D-Stockton, to the council.

Former Assembly Speaker Karen Bass, D-Los Angeles, named Gloria Gray, a board member of the West Basin Municipal Water District.

The seventh seat is held by the chair of the existing Delta Protection Commission.

The council was created under water legislation the governor signed last year. It seeks to change how California uses and transports water and restore the fragile delta ecosystem.

Each council seat is a four-year term and pays $40,669. The governor's appointments need to be confirmed by the Senate. Fiorini, 56, of Turlock, is managing partner of Fiorini Ranch and Farm Co. He is a past president of the Association of California Water Agencies, a statewide organization that helped get the water package passed. Fiorini is a Republican.

A former Democratic state Assemblyman, Isenberg, 71, headed Schwarzenegger's Delta Vision Blue Ribbon Task Force in 2007 and 2008.

Nordhoff, 68, of Del Mar, is chairman of Gen-Probe Inc., where he previously served as president and chief executive officer. He is Republican.

Roos-Collins, 56, of Berkeley, is director of legal serv- ices for the Natural Heritage Institute. He also is a member of the Bay Delta Conservation Plan Steering Committee, a state-federal group that is drafting a restoration plan for the delta. He is a Democrat.