13 Stanislaus District athletes win Section scholarships

Thirteen Stanislaus District athletes were awarded A. Dale Lacky Scholarships by the Sac-Joaquin Section, it was announced this afternoon.

The scholarships, awarded on the basis of outstanding athletic performance, community service and academic success, are worth from $600 to $1,000 each.

The three district athletes awarded $1,000 scholarhips were Escalon High School’s Kaitlyn Brayton, Sonora’s Ashley Pittman and Sierra’s John Bowers.

Winning $600 scholarships were Haylee Bettencourt of Hilmar; Veronica Moreno, Le Grand; Sarah Mucha, Downey; Beth Vaccarezza, Calaveras; Stephanie Young, Pitman; William “Vas” Giahos, Johansen; John Guerrero, Atwater; Sebastian Hernandez, Central Catholic; Geoffrey Retemyer, Turlock Christian; and Steve Vander Molen, Ripon Christian.

All 50 scholarhship winners will be recognized at the April 20 CIF Sac-Joaquin Section Breakfast Awards Ceremony at Elkhorn Country Club in Stockton.

Read the attachment with this story for athlete biographies.