Success and Service: Civitan club salutes officers

The Stanislaus Civitan Club recognized a dozen law enforcement officers during a recent event for their service to their communities.

The Stanislaus Civitan Club is a local organization of volunteer men and women affiliated with Civitan International and dedicated to providing service to the community.

Officer of the Year recipients included: Detective Sgt. Anthony Bejaran of the Stanislaus County Sheriff's Department; deputy Donnie Worsham of Riverbank Police Services; deputy David Reisz of Patterson Police Services; deputy Fidel Alonzo of Hughson Police Services; deputy Jesse Ruelas of Waterford Police Services; Cpl. Steve Olson of California State University, Stanislaus police; officer Richard A. Kennell of the California Highway Patrol; officer Amy Bublak of the Modesto Police Department; officer Daniel Fairchild of Ceres police; Detective J.D. McWilliams of Turlock Police Services Office; Miguel Villalobos of Newman police; and Rockwell Anderson of Oakdale police.

Charles Cuvelier is Yosemite National Park's new chief ranger after being the acting chief ranger for several months. Cuvelier has been at Yosemite since 2006 and will oversee law enforcement, search and rescue, fire and aviation, emergency medical services, the mounted horse patrol program, the Emergency Communications Center, and legal support services. He graduated from the University of Memphis in 1992 and worked at Natchez Trace Parkway along with the Great Smoky Mountains and Sequoia-Kings Canyon national parks before coming to Yosemite.

Modesto native Matthew Matlock, a senior airman in the Air Force with the 125th Special Tactics Squadron, earned the Bronze Star for his service in Afghanistan. The son of Doug and Aimee Matlock of Modesto, he graduated from Central Catholic High in 2001. He conducted more than 35 combat patrols and 40 combat operations during his deployment.

Appointments by the Stanislaus County Board of Supervisors: Maria Ontiveros to the mental health board; Lourdes Uranday, Greg Vincelet, and Michael Frantz to the Stanislaus Economic Development and Workforce Alliance board.

Eric Ramos of Modesto was honored as the California Family Physician of the Year during an dinner in San Francisco last week. He has practiced family medicine for more than 18 years and is a past president of the Stanislaus County Medical Society, a former delegate to the California Medical Association, a current alternate delegate to the American Academy of Family Physicians, and a past president of California Academy of Family Physicians. He and wife Judy have two children, Adrian and Erica.

Modesto's Gold Rush Chapter of APICS was honored by the group's Pacific Western District for the second time this fiscal year. APICS is the acronym for Advancing Productivity, Innovation and Competitive Success. Chapters are graded upon their operational, educational and association support in operations and supply chain management industries.

Emanuel Medical Center board chairman and Turlock native Jennifer Larson has been honored by the Turlock Sunrise Rotary for her efforts to make Turlock a healthier community. She was chosen as a Paul Harris Fellow.

Larson joined Emanuel's board of directors in 1998 and became chairman in 2003. She and husband Kirk have raised money for the hospital's Legacy Circle, generating $113,750 to help build the Mary Stuart Rogers Birthing Center and Emanuel's three-story Critical Care Center, and helped establish the Emanuel Cancer Endowment.

Kate Baum will serve as the Tuolumne County Genealogical Society's president in 2010-2011. Other officers include co-vice presidents Kristine Childres and Pat Perry; recording secretary Rick Baird; treasurer Bill Koch; corresponding secretary Cheryl Maddox; education director Vicki Smith; registrar Tiny Whitman; library director Lori East, and ways and means chairman Kathy Fox.

Meetings are at 7 p.m. on the second Monday of each month from June through October. The society meets in the Community Room at the Tuolumne County Library on Greenley Road in Sonora.

The Doctors Medical Center Foundation announced winners of scholarships totaling nearly $20,000. The students plan on medical careers.

The recipients were: Korinne Baxter, Sydney Chartrand, Elizabeth Cortez-Toledo, Micah Florece Domingo, Dawn Garcia, Elena Gonzalez, Heidi Harvey, Linda Holmes, Ronit Lyon, Ian Peltier, Oksana Petrechko, Jacob Priester, Melissa Ramage-Stephens, Jillian Ramos, Kylee Reeser, Sara Richards, Nancy Rivera, Akashdeep Sandhu, Elizabeth Tejeda, and Adriana Woodward.

Submit items for Success & Service to