Parrill Klein, Lundrigan win big in Stanislaus County races

Voters kept experienced hands at the heads of the auditor-controller and clerk- recorder offices, according to unofficial election results.

With 21,953 votes, or 64.8 percent, Assistant Auditor-Controller Lauren Parrill Klein won the race for Stanislaus County auditor-controller in Tuesday's primary, with 85 percent of precincts reporting.

Chief Financial Officer at Community Hospice Rick Dahlseid tallied 11,703 votes, or 34.5 percent.

"I was expecting to have a lead because of my experience and the endorsements I had," said Parrill Klein, who was watching election results online Tuesday night.

The department's duties include disbursing payments, auditing county operations and providing financial information to the county's 27 departments.

Parrill Klein, 54, has worked for the auditor- controller's office for more than four years and recently was promoted to the No. 2 position there. She spent 10 years with Bay Area accounting firms.

Lee Lundrigan, 57, easily won her third term as clerk-recorder, which manages elections and vital records from birth and death certificates to property records and marriage licenses.

With 28,636 votes, or 78.2 percent, Lundrigan cruised to victory over Terry Harwell, a longtime title insurance provider.

Four other nonpartisan Stanislaus County races were decided Tuesday night because no candidate had an opponent:

Assessor, Dave Cogdill -- after deciding against running for re-election to his state Senate seat, the Modesto resident now will head the office, which is responsible for assessing county land values.

District attorney, Birgit Fladager -- the top prosecutor in Stanislaus County, Fladager won a second term Tuesday.

Superintendent of schools, Tom Changnon -- one of the first officials to announce his re-election bid last year -- was re-elected and will serve a second term leading the county Office of Education.

Treasurer-tax collector Gordon Ford, who was appointed to the office in 2005 and elected in 2006, also won re-election Tuesday night.

Bee staff writer Michelle Hatfield can be reached at or 578-2339.